The Three Rs: Eimear McBride

November 13, 2013 § Leave a comment

Eimear McBride grew up in the west of Ireland. She studied at Drama Centre London. Her first novel A Girl is a Half-formed Thing was published by Galley Beggar Press in June 2013. She lives in Norwich with her husband and daughter and is currently working on her second novel.
When did you first know you wanted to write?
It’s hard to pinpoint precisely but I was certainly writing from quite a young age. The moment I realised it was what I wanted to spend the rest of my life doing was around twenty-three, during a long, strange, sleepless summer in Russia.
 
How does writing fit into your typical day?
I’m a nine-to-fiver and spend as many of those hours writing as possible -which is slightly more difficult since my daughter arrived, but the will is still there!
 
Do you type or write by hand?
Type. I revise what I’ve written every day so long-hand wouldn’t be practical. I still carry a notebook and pen for scribbling though.
18218630
 
What have you read recently that you loved?
The Watch Tower by Elizabeth Harrower, who is an extraordinarily powerful Australian novelist. Her work has only recently been republished after years in obscurity and I can’t remember the last time a novel affected me so strongly
 
What are your all-time favourites?
It’s probably boring to say Ulysses but it never stops being the truth. Thomas Mann’s Doctor Faustus. Middlemarch. Dostoyevsky’s The Devils. Tender is the Night. Nineteen Eighty-Four. This is a very hard question to stop answering.
You can either write or read for the rest of your life – but not both. Which do you choose?
I’ve whiled a lot of years reading, so writing would be it.
What’s your third R, and why?
Re-writing because it’s all in that.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Three Rs: Eimear McBride at Slightly Bookist.

meta

