The Three Rs: Jonathan Goyette

March 22, 2013 § Leave a comment

The first bilingual Three Rs interview is with Jonathan Goyette, whose new book of short stories is called Le saboteur d’avenir. Jonathan, a professor at the Université de Sherbrooke in Quebec, did me out of a job by translating his own answers.

When did you first know you wanted to write books?

À huit ans, je créais et produisais déjà mon propre magazine de bandes-dessinées et de journalisme d’aventure. Même si mon lectorat se limitait à ma propre personne, sauf lors d’une collaboration occasionnelle  avec un ami qui était « engagé » pour dessiner une section du magazine ou écrire un reportage, c’était clair à l’époque que j’avais besoin de raconter des histoires et de les consigner.

At eight I was already producing a magazine of comic strips and adventure stories. Even if my readership was limited to myself – except for the occasional collaboration with a friend who’d provide a drawing or write an article – it was already clear at the time that I needed to tell and record my stories.

What does your day look like while you’re writing a book?

Cela dépend de la journée. Si c’est une très bonne journée, je me réveille sous le coup d’une inspiration qui peut guider mon crayon durant plusieurs heures. Je peux écrire sans manger durant des heures, excité par la clarté de mes pensées qui s’alignent sans effort. Cela m’arrivait toujours lorsque j’avais huit ans. Maintenant, ce type de journées extraordinaires ne survient que très rarement depuis que j’ai vieilli et suis devenu critique à propos de mon travail.

Lorsqu’il s’agit seulement d’une bonne journée, je dois tout d’abord me battre avec les 12 lettres de mon irrésolution et prendre ses 2 « r » comme on prend un taureau par les cornes. Afin de déjouer mon critique intérieur, je me réchauffe à l’aide d’écriture automatique ou de poésie. Une fois mon critique intérieur maîtrisé, je peux parfois profiter de quelques heures inspirées.

Il y a aussi ces instants durant lesquels je prépare mon écriture. Ce sont mes moments préférés puisque je laisse mon imagination errer sans objectif précis. C’est très excitant lorsqu’une idée émerge à l’intersection de courants de pensées qui, rationnellement, n’ont rien en commun.

It depends on the day. If it is a really good day, I wake up blessed with an inspiration that might guide my pen for hours. I can then write without eating for hours in a row, too excited by the clarity of my thoughts which align themselves without any resistance. This used to happen all the time when I was eight. Unfortunately, it does not even represent 1% of the time I spend writing now that I have grown older and critical of my work.

On a good day, I first have to wrestle with the 12 letters of my irresolution and take its two “r”s like one grabs a bull by the horns. In order to circumvent my interior critic, I usually warm up with automatic writing or poetry. Then, I may get into a flow for a few hours.

There are also these moments where the aim is not writing in itself but planning the next bit to come. Those instants are my favorites because I can let my imagination wander without a preconceived objective. I get excited when an idea pops up at the junction of thoughts that were not objectively made to cross paths.

Do you type or write?

Tout d’abord, j’essaie d’écrire un brouillon sur papier afin de suivre le rythme de mon inspiration. Lorsque je travaille directement sur l’ordinateur, j’ai tendance à revenir en arrière dans le texte et il s’agit d’un réflexe qui anéantit l’inspiration. Lorsque j’ai terminé ce premier brouillon, je le transcris à l’ordinateur.

First, I try to write a draft on paper. It slows me down and gets me into a flow. When I work on the computer I trick myself by moving back and forth into the text and it kills the inspiration. Once I’m done with this first draft, I type it.

What do you read while you’re writing?

Ce que je viens juste d’écrire.  Je n’ai pas d’habitude particulière à ce sujet.

What I’ve just written. I don’t have a specific habit in this case.

What have you read recently that you really loved?

Les rois maudits de Maurice Druon. Au-delà des faits historiques qui sont très intéressants, le souffle et l’écriture de l’auteur sont captivants. The thousand autumns of Jacob de Zoet par David Mitchell. Encore une fois, la dimension historique de ce roman est très bien documentée. Et l’auteur réussit à donner vie à chacun de ses personnages en lui insufflant un langage qui lui est propre.

Les rois maudits by Maurice Druon. On top of the historical facts, which are really interesting, the flow and writing style of this novel are just captivating. The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell. Again, the historical dimension is fascinating and well documented. The author produces life-like characters by attributing each of them with an idiosyncratic way of saying things.

What are your all-time favourites?

L’amour au temps du choléra et Chronique d’une mort annoncée de Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Pour le souffle de l’auteur qui nous emporte avec son imagination infinie. Toute les nouvelles de Jorge Luis Borges. Je suis fasciné par l’écriture de cet auteur argentin qui nous entraine toujours dans une dimension ambigüe entre le rêve, la réalité et la fiction. Tous les livres que j’ai lus de Romain Gary, et en particulier La vie devant soi. Le souffle et la sensibilité de cet écrivain figurent parmi mes sources d’inspiration. Finalement, la lecture combinée de Tropic of Cancer et Big Sur and the oranges of Hieronymius Bosch par Henry Miller. Il s’agit d’un hymne à la vie, d’un appel à suivre l’élan vital.

Love in the time of cholera and Chronicle of a death foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. The imagination of the author just took mine on a magic trip. All short stories by Jorge Luis Borges fascinate me because of their ambiguous relation with dream, reality and fiction.  All books I’ve read by Romain Gary, more particularly La vie devant soi. The flow and the sensitivity of the author are some of my sources of inspiration.  Finally, the combination of Henry Miller’s Tropic of Cancer with his book entitled Big Sur and the Oranges of Hieronymius Bosch, which represents a hymn to life and a call to live in the moment.

What’s your third R, and why?

If I can I pick any word with the letter “r”, I’d say “breath”: let a draft breathe; get into a flow with the right breath. If the word has to start with the letter “r”, I’d say “respirer”: laisser respirer mes premiers jets; trouver mon souffle lorsque j’écris.

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Three Rs: Jonathan Goyette at Slightly Bookist.

meta

