Irresistible

November 7, 2012 § Leave a comment

As I write this the US election is too close to call, so I’m writing a quick post tonight in case the world should end before morning.

Immersed in a heap of fantastic books at the moment. That’s what buying books instead of borrowing them from the library will do. (Sorry, library, I do love you, but our tastes in books are rather divergent.) One of the books I’ve just finished, quite possibly the best book I’ve read in 2012 (Helen DeWitt’s Lightning Rods), was sent to me free of charge as a pdf. This will amaze certain sections of the population, but I went out and bought a hard copy of the book because I could tell from the first couple of pages that I wanted to read it (and not as a pdf). Yes, I spent money on something I could have had (well, already did have) for free. Now there’s some food for thought for the publishing end-of-the-worlders (and speaking of which, I’m keen to read ECW’s Ultra Libris: Policy, Technology and the Creative Economy of Book Publishing in Canada by Rowland Lorimer, ably reviewed by Alana Wilcox in the Literary Review of Canada.

Anyway, one of the books in the stack (pilfered from the house historian’s pile) is the intriguing The Revenge of the Methodist Bicycle Company, a reprint of H.V. Nelles’ and Christopher Armstrong’s work. Who could resist a title like that? OUP’s blurb describes the book as a rollicking good story, which is good news, since so many history (or should that be academic?) books fail to deliver on the promise of their interesting titles.

(c) All rights reserved. Unless otherwise indicated, all blog content, except comments by others, copyright JC Sutcliffe.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Irresistible at Slightly Bookist.

meta

