Different interpretations

July 14, 2012 § Leave a comment

My review of Pasha Malla’s debut novel, People Park, is in today’s Globe and Mail. I really loved and admired his short story collection, The Withdrawal Method, but although I found a lot of good stuff in People Park I also didn’t get on with some aspects of it. If you read my review, you should also have a look at Matthew J. Trafford’s piece in the National Post, which is a much more thoughtful and generous appreciation of the novel by perhaps its ideal reader. I don’t usually read other opinions of books I’m reviewing (for fear of being easily influenced or discovering that everyone else thinks the book I’m praising is a worthless sham) but last week’s “negative” reviews dust-up between Michael Lista and Jan Zwicky was the backdrop to my writing and reading, so once I’d sent my piece off I was curious to see how others had reacted to the book.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Different interpretations at Slightly Bookist.

meta

