New book excitement

March 28, 2012 § Leave a comment

There are three new books coming out in the next little while that I can’t wait to get my hands on, by three young women of varying degrees of fame (at least so far).

The big news is that Zadie Smith’s long-awaited fourth novel, NW, will be out in September. Despite the fact that I couldn’t finish The Autograph Man and thought that White Teeth had some fairly major flaws, I am a huge admirer of Smith’s intellect and her writing. Jonathan Bennett sums up her essay collection, Changing My Mind,very nicely here. I’ve also got an essay of hers in the TBR pile, in a collection of essays about the importance of reading called Stop What You’re Doing And Read This!

NW: A Novel

 

Next up is Megan Mayhew Bergman’s Birds of a Lesser Paradise, which looks fascinating and has been getting some very good reviews. She and Lauren Groff seem to be at the forefront of a new wave of environmentalist writers for whom the second word in that description is not sacrificed to the first.

Picture

Finally, and perhaps most importantly, my lovely and talented friend Gayle O’Brien has her first novel, Underground, coming out in just a couple of weeks. From the last link you can actually download the first three chapters, but I’m going to force myself to wait until I get my mucky paws on a copy. It’s very exciting!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New book excitement at Slightly Bookist.

meta

