Arcadia by Lauren Groff

March 17, 2012 § Leave a comment

My review of the fabulous Arcadia by Lauren Groff is in Saturday’s Globe and Mail. After I finished my review, I looked around at reviews of her first novel, The Monsters of Templeton, and was surprised to see how many were by or for readers of sci-fi and fantasy. Somehow I hadn’t fully clocked the MR/ghost/slightly fantastical sections of the book–unusual, since normally the merest hint of magic realism is enough to give me heartsink (that same awful feeling as when a friend whose intellect I have always considered sound recommends Paulo Coelho to me) but Groff is such a good writer that she could probably write anything and I’d like it.Arcadia cover

Anyway, Arcadia is an excellent book by a great writer. Check out her other books too.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Arcadia by Lauren Groff at Slightly Bookist.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 245 other followers

